Ted Cruz Introduces Bill Giving States Ability To Define Marriage

Ted Cruz, along with 11 other Republican senators, has re-introduced the State Marriage Defense Act. The bill would leave the definition of marriage up to each individual state and preclude the federal government from pushing their definition of marriage on the states.

“Even though the Supreme Court made clear in United States v. Windsor that the federal government should defer to state ‘choices about who may be married,’ the Obama Administration has disregarded state marriage laws enacted by democratically-elected legislatures to uphold traditional marriage,” Cruz said in a press release.

He continued:

In Windsor, the Supreme Court improperly struck down a federal statute, Section 3 of the Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA), that defined marriage for purposes of federal law as the union of one man and one woman.  At the same time, the Supreme Court reaffirmed the states’ longstanding authority to define marriage.

Unfortunately, the Obama Administration has overruled that state authority, as various federal agencies are recognizing same-sex marriages in states that only recognize traditional marriage, creating what the Windsor decision condemned: “two contradictory marriage regimes in the same state.

This is not the first time Cruz has brought up this bill. Last year, Cruz and Senator Mike Lee (R-Utah) introduced the same bill, but because of Harry Reid and his dictatorship in the senate, the bill was not brought to the floor for a vote.

YoungCons.com points out that by signing the bill into law, the Tenth Amendment is upheld as well as a reduction in the size of the federal government.

Cruz added, “I support traditional marriage and we should reject attempts by the Obama Administration to force same-sex marriage on all 50 states. The State Marriage Defense Act helps safeguard the ability of states to preserve traditional marriage for their citizens.”

Cruz is joined once again by Mike Lee. This time they enjoy the support of John Boozman (R-Ark.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), James Inhofe (R-Okla). James Lankford (R-Okla.), Pat Roberts (R-Kan.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Jeff Sessions (R-Ala.) Richard Shelby (R-Ala.), and David Vitter (R-La.) Congressman Randy Weber (R-Texas).


Source link